1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Boarding House: North Shore

About.com Rating 4 Star Rating


The WB Televison Network brings Hawaii to the mainland with their six-part series "Boarding House: North Shore." The series follows seven professional surfers who live together in a beach house in Hawaii while competing against each other in the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing.
Unlike most other TV reality shows that pit cast members against in each in a contest for a big prize at the end, The WB Television Network's new "Boarding House: North Shore" focuses on the day to day lives of seven world-class surfers as they compete in the 1992 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing championship. While each contestant's goal is to win the championship, (male and female contests are separate), this show looks at only at a single two month period in the careers of these professional surfers. In many aspects this show appears like MTV's Real World than a standard reality show.

Produced by Mark Burnett of "Survivor" fame, this six part series is set on the North Shore of Oahu. New one-hour episodes premier each Wednesday evening at 8:00 pm eastern and are repeated the following Sunday night at 9:00 pm.

The cast for the series features:
Sunny Garcia (Kauai, HI; Encinitas, CA): A former world champion and five-time Vans Triple Crown of Surfing champion.
Myles Padaca (Oahu, HI): The reigning Vans Triple Crown of Surfing champion.
Damien Hobgood (Satellite Beach, FL): The 14th-ranked male surfer in the world.

Danny Fuller (Kauai, HI): A rising star, who qualified for the semifinals of the Bonzai Pipeline Masters last year.
Veronica Kay (Encinitas, CA): Model and world traveler who is the international face of Roxy surfwear.
Holly Beck (Rancho Palos Verdes, CA): The top female extreme athlete in the Teen Choice Awards and the founder of International Women's Surfing (the women's union).
Chelsea Georgeson (Avalon, Australia): The 5th ranked female surfer in the world.

In addition to these regulars other world-class surfers will appear including Shane Dorian, Mick Fanning, Andy Irons, and Jake Patterson.

The first episode focused on the contestants arriving at their well furnished home on the North Shore of Oahu. Background information on each contestant was provided not only from their own mouths but from the comments of their fellow housemates.

Much of the time spent during the competition is spent waiting for surf conditions to be optimal for the contest. Contestants must be prepared to surf on any given day. They only know if the contest will go on after they call a telephone number early in the morning.

Both the men's and women's championships consist of three separate contests at three different locations.

The men's Triple Crown competition consists of the Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa Beach, the Rip Curl Cup at Sunset Beach and the Xbox Gerry Lopez Pipeline Masters at the infamous Banzai Pipeline.

The women's Triple Crown competition consists of the Roxy Pro at Haleiwa, the Turtle Bay Women's Pro near the Turtle Bay Resort and the Billabong Pro at Honolua Bay, Maui.

While the competitions are conducted in unimpeded conditions, the surfers must practice alongside their fellow pros as well as amateur surfers, many of whom are unprepared for the conditions on the North Shore. All beaches in Hawaii are public beaches and many surfers take this as a personal invitation to risk their own lives. In the first episode several of our housemates come to the rescue of an inexperienced surfer who sustains a serious leg injury in the water and who would likely have drowned without their help.

The real star of "Boarding House: North Shore" is the surf itself at the Hawaii. You will some of the most exciting surfing sequences that you have ever seen. Whether you're a surfer yourself or just enjoy watching men and women battle huge unpredictable waves, you'll enjoy this show.

Take our Boarding House: North Shore Polls and tell us how you rate the show and who is your favorite cast member.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.